Social media doesn’t have to be a confusing place. Because there are so many different rules and expectations, it’s hard to keep up with everything. But when it comes to being blocked, how can you know if someone blocked you on Instagram?
The way you can see if someone has blocked you on Instagram is simple. First, you search the name of the person you suspect has blocked you, then you see if you can access their content. If you cannot, then you have been blocked by them.
Step by Step to See if You Have Been Blocked
Overall, the level of security you have over your own Instagram account is pretty good. You can choose who can see your profile, as well as who has access to stories. While you won’t always get notifications for other’s actions like a quick screenshot, you can check to see who has blocked YOU!
Step 1: Log Into Instagram
Open your Instagram application on your phone, or tablet. Log into your account.
Step 2: Try a Comment
Go to a post that includes a comment, or like of the person you believe has blocked you. Tap on their name. If you cannot see their content, but the top part of their profile shows the number of posts they have, then you are blocked.
Step 3: Searching
At the bottom of your application will be a magnifying glass icon. Tap it. Try searching the person’s name. If the profile is private and you are not their contact you will see a notice that says “This Account is Private”. However, if the profile is public, but you cannot see any content, then you have been blocked.
There you have it. In a few simple steps you will find out if you’ve been blocked on Instagram!
If Someone Blocked You on Instagram Can You Still Message Them?
If someone has blocked you on Instagram you will not be able to message them directly. Any previous messages may appear, but you won’t be able to send anything in the DM’s. Even if they unblock you in the future, those messages will not be delivered.
Keep that in mind if you ever block someone on Instagram yourself! If they send you an apology or anything of that sort, you won’t ever get it. However, if you’ve made peace in person, and not on social media, it would make all the difference!
Knowing You Are Blocked on Instagram
Now that you know the simple steps for checking to see if someone has blocked you on Instagram, it’s time to move on. Sure, it may be hard coming to terms with the fact that someone blocked you. However, it is ultimately their choice. After all, social media can mean more to some than others, but it’s time to to find new friends on Instagram to follow!