iOS

How to Delete Photos from ICloud

In a dilemma, how to delete photos from iCloud? Is your memory space in iCloud getting full and you want to know how to free some of it?

If these things are affecting you and wasting your time, you are at the right place. This article will solve your entire problem. Here I am going to show you easy methods to delete photos from your iCloud account.

If you don’t want any file in your device which is taking too much of space, you can transfer that to iCloud. iCloud provides free space of 5 GB for every apple user. Those who want to extend their iCloud storage to 50 GB or 1 TB, have to pay extra charges to make use of that. However, those who don’t want to pay any extra amount have a very less storage capacity in iCloud and may have chances to get full very soon.

You need to read this article:- How to Delete iCloud Account [5 Methods]

The main culprit for space problems in iCloud are the photos. So, in this article, I am going to show you how to delete photos from iCloud. This article comprises of different methods of deletion of photos from iCloud. It includes deletion of photos manually, cleaning up the complete memory in one go, deleting the photos from iCloud and not from your device and covering important things you must know about each method. So, without wasting time, let’s get started with the article.

Methods Of Deleting Photos from iCloud

Photos take the maximum space in iCloud depending on which option you have selected. It could be “My Photo Stream” or it could be “iCloud Photo Library”. My Photo Stream uploads the photo in iCloud with high resolution which takes a lot of space. On the other hand iCloud photo library uploads the photo in iCloud with less resolution, therefore, takes the minimum storage.

So let’s look into the methods one by one. Follow the steps in the methods mentioned below briefly to easily delete photos from your iCloud account.

Deleting Photos through Website

This method helps you to delete photos manually by logging in your iCloud website from any device you are comfortable in. Deleting from a particular device will make the photo deleted from everywhere, wherever iCloud is turned on. However, deleting the photos from the website will not permanently delete it in one go. It will be first sent to a new folder “Recently deleted” for 30 days.

It is a two-step procedure to delete the photos from iCloud but also very helpful. If some of your photos have been deleted mistakenly, you can restore those photos from “Recently Deleted”. To delete photos from thr iCloud website, follow the steps below.

  • Open your favourite browser and navigate to the iCloud website.
  • Sign-in with your Apple-ID and password in the iCloud website.
  • Select the photos icon from the website.
  • Select the pictures you want to delete from iCloud.
  • Click on the delete button from the top bar and select delete.

So, now the photos you have deleted is transferred to an album named as “Recently Deleted”. The photos will be there in this folder until 30-40 days. However, if you want to delete the photos from “Recently Deleted” album right now or you want to restore any photo then follow the steps below.

  • Sign in to the iCloud website.
  • Select “Photos” application.
  • Select “Albums” from the bottom bar
  • Now select “Recently Deleted” album from the new screen
  • Click “Select” located at the top right corner of the screen
  • Select “Delete All” and confirm it.

deleting photos from recently deleted folder icloud

So, now you have completely deleted the photos from iCloud. If you want to recover any photo, you need to click “Recover” for the selected photos before deleting the photos.

Deleting Photos when “My Photo Stream” is ON

Before proceeding to this method, I would suggest you, to save all your photos and videos to another device because this method will delete all the photos in one go. If “My Photo Stream” is turned on, it has the ability to automatically send the photos and videos to other Apple devices with the help of Wi-Fi. Whenever it transfers photos to other devices, it creates two copies of the same media which uses lots of space. Therefore it is recommended to turn-off “My Photo Stream”.

By deleting a photo from “My Photo Stream” album, will delete the photo from iCloud but if you want to keep the photos in your device then you need to transfer those photos to “Photo library” and then proceed to the steps below.

  • Firstly, tap “Settings” from your Apple device
  • Select “Photos and Camera” in the settings screen
  • Deselect the slide button next to “My Photo Stream”
  • Lastly, Select “Delete” and confirm it.

disabling my photo stream

This will delete all the photos which are in “My Photo Stream” album as well as iCloud. Now the photos are transferred to “Recently Deleted” album. You can permanently delete the photos by going to “Recently deleted” album from your device and precede the steps mentioned in the very first method of this article.

You may also need this:- How to Delete iCloud Account without Password?

Deleting Photos when “iCloud Photo Library” is ON

Generally, iCloud photo library is ON by default in every Apple device. This helps in keeping the photos and videos automatically to iCloud with proper sorting by dates, month and year which makes it easier for the user to find a particular photo by just remembering the date. But some of the users are a little bit concerned about their privacy, so turning off is the best solution which also clears the iCloud space.

It is better to save all the photos on other devices because the photos will be deleted in one go. Follow the steps below to delete the photos from iCloud photo library.

  • Firstly, go to settings from your Apple device.
  • Select your Apple-Id from the settings screen of your device.
  • Now select “iCloud”.
  • Now tap on “Photos”.
  • Deselect the slide button next to “ iCloud photo library”.

disable icloud photo library on your device

  • Lastly, tap on “Disable and delete”.

disable icloud photo library and delete photos

Now all the photos have been deleted from iCloud. If you want to recover some photos, go to “Recently Deleted” album and restore it.

Time to delete your Photos from iCloud

So you have seen all the methods by which you can easily delete your photos from iCloud. I believe these methods are more than enough to delete your photos from your iCloud account easily. If you have just read the article and not tried it yourself. I recommend you to do so while reading the steps, so as to avoid any mistakes.

You might also be interested in:- How to Delete Photos from Picasa [Every Method]

So that marks the end of our article. If you are having any difficulty or queries or doubts regarding any of the methods mentioned above feel free to mention them in the Comments Section below. I’ll be more than happy to help you with it. I hope now you don’t have to search anymore ‘How to delete photos from iCloud’ on the Internet.

About the author

Bhupinder Singh

I'm a programmer. I basically write about tech and programming languages. I'm currently pursuing B.tech in Information Technology in Bhopal. I'm a geek and a self-learner. I love python. ;-)

RSS
Follow by Email
Facebook
Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
LinkedIn